Buying a Home:
Professional Designations for Real Estate Agents

You have most likely seen varying combinations of letters following the names of some real estate agents.  If you've been wondering what they mean, here is a cheat sheet of some of the more common professional designations to help you make more sense of this seemingly alphabet soup.

ABR -- Accredited Buyer Representative
The Real Estate Buyers Agent Council, an affiliate of the National Association of Realtors® that focuses on buyer representation, manages this designation. Realtors® who earn the ABR designation have met specified educational and practical experience requirements that are designed to enhance their capability to service the needs and work in the best interests of buyers in real estate transactions.

ABRMsm -- Accredited Buyer Representative Manager
This is the designation for managers, brokers and owners who incorporate buyer representation into the service offerings of their real estate companies.  Designees must successfully complete a course and exam, plus meet a minimum requirement for experience in oversight of buyer representatives.  They must also be members in good standing of the Real Estate Buyers Agent Council and the National Association of Realtors®.

CEBA -- Certified Exclusive Buyer Agent
Agents holding the CEBA designation work for buyers only.  They never represent sellers.  A rigorous three-part program focusing on training, education, and experience must be completed to earn this designation.  In addition, designees must be members of the National Association of Exclusive Buyer Agents, the organization that awards the CEBA designation.

CBR -- Certified Buyer Representative
Sponsored by the National Association of Realtors® boards, the CBR designation represents an agent's commitment to buyer representation.  It is awarded following a three-day training program in buyer agency instruction.

CRS -- Certified Residential Specialist
CRS designees are Realtors® who complete advanced education and training in residential listing and sales, have significant industry experience, and meet specified sales volume requirements.  The Council of Residential Specialists awards this designation, which is the highest awarded to sales associates in the residential sales field. 

ePRO® Certification -- Internet Professional
The e-PRO® certification training program is completed online through the National Association of Realtors®.  The program provides comprehensive Internet training, and it educates participants in how to leverage their professional skills to do more business on the Internet.  Real estate professionals who complete this training are certified as Internet Professionals.

GRI -- Graduate, Realtor® Institute
This Institute provides instruction in a broad array of real estate subjects from marketing and sales to real estate law.  Graduates must successfully complete 90 hours of coursework, thus obtaining a strong educational foundation and strengthening their ability to better serve and protect the interest of their clients.   The program is offered through State Associations of Realtors®.

SRES® -- Seniors Real Estate Specialist
Realtors® holding the SRES® designation have demonstrated knowledge and expertise to guide seniors who are clients through lifestyle and financial transactions involved in buying and selling their home.  A two-day training program and an exam are required to earn this designation.  It is awarded by the Senior Advantage Real Estate Council which is dedicated to serving the real estate needs of senior consumers.

Information is for educational and informational purposes only and is not be interpreted as financial or legal advice. This does not represent a recommendation to buy, sell, or hold any security. Please consult your financial advisor.